Spearheaded by the Office of Civil Defense in partnership with various national and local agencies, the drill seeks to strengthen the mechanism for national and regional coordination, as well as the interoperability of key players. It also aims to intensify local communities’ earthquake preparedness and increase the commitment of local government units in building safe communities.

The drill shall be graced by NDRRMC Chairperson and National Defense Secretary Voltaire T Gazmin, joined by NDRRMC Executive Director and Civil Defense Administrator Undersecretary Alexander P Pama, and Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology Director Renato U Solidum Jr. Other NDRRMC member agencies representatives and members of the media will be present as well.

The scenario is derived from the results of the Metro Manila Earthquake Impact Reduction Study (MMEIRS 2004) and the GMMA – READY Project in 2014. Both detail an impact scenario of a magnitude 7.2 earthquake along the West Valley Fault (model 08, MMEIRS), the worst case scenario for Metro Manila and nearby Provinces.

“Our safety does not rest in the hands of one person or government agency alone. It rests in our very hands as we put them together on the concerted effort of building safer, adaptive and resilient communities.” said Sec Voltaire Gazmin.

OCD Regional Offices will lead the earthquake drills in their respective pilot areas. A total of 22,117 individuals from the18 regions are expected to participate in the drill. Attached is the list of the regional venues.



I Bangui, Ilocos Norte
II Petron, Aparri, Cagayan
III Air Force City, Clark Airbase Pampanga
IV A Sta. Rosa City, Laguna
IV-B Romblon Provincial Capitol
V Camarines Sur
  • Camp Martin Delgado and Western Institute of Technology
  • Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center (VSMMC)
  • University of Cebu-Main Campus
  • SM Seaside Cebu
VIII Catarman Province Capitol Ground
IX Petit Barracks, Zamboanga City
  • DepEd Regional Office Cagayan de Oro
  • Misamis Occidental Provincial Hospital
  • Gingoog Sanitarium Hospital
  • Abella Midway Hospital, Lavina General Hospital, Valencia Medical Hospital, Valencia City
  • Paglaum Multi-Purpose Building, Plaridel
  • Tudela Municipal Hal
  • Misasmis Bank, Tudela
  • Lopez Jeana, Municipal Compound
XI Camp Katitipan PRO II Compound
XII PPA Gensan
  • TESDA-ARMM, RMDC Complex, BrgyRebuken, Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao
  • Mindanao State University- Maguindanao, Datu Odin SinsuatMaguindanao
  • Provincial Capitol- Maguindanao, Buluan, Maguindanao
  • Provincial Capitol, Isabela City, Basilan
  • Provincial Office at Capitol Cite, BangkalPatikul, Sulu
  • Maharlika Institute and Technology (M.I.T) Limoh St., Bongao, Tawi-Tawi
  • Provincial Capitol-Lanao del Sur, Marawi City
CAR Baguio City
CARAGA Tandag City, Surigao del Sur
NCR SM Megamall, Mandaluyong City
NIR Municipality of Hinobaan, Negros Occidental